top of page

Post-Rock Ambient Act THE COLOR OF CYAN Drops the Single “When Autumn” Off Upcoming Album "Egress"!

The post-rock/ambient act THE COLOR OF CYAN has revealed a new single taken from “Egress”, the upcoming album set to be released on September 1st, 2023. The song is called “When Autumn” and, along its 8-minute length, displays a succession of moods such as melancholy and agitation. The guitarist Eduardo Cintron elaborated:

"When Autumn" is a song that starts dark and builds towards an explosive epic climax. It is one of the fastest songs we have written. The sections throughout the body of the song keep changing without reprising to convey that sense of constant transformation.

Stream/download “When Autumn” on the main digital platforms:

Pre-order “Egress” on Bandcamp:

THE COLOR OF CYAN's second studio album, “Egress”, is about time, time for knowledge, for love, for pain and for the constant learning that makes us who we are. The story of two people dancing over tides, gliding together, until one starts to slowly disappear, but even in tears, enjoying the time left makes them stronger. Bittersweet minutes of sound fill the void, scanning our surroundings. Closing circles, at ease, with a smile. After all, time is the constant pursuit of happiness.

THE COLOR OF CYAN creates emotive instrumental music, seamlessly merging cinematic post-rock, moving orchestral arrangements, ambient, and post-metal. The original iteration of the band was formed in 2000 in San Juan, Puerto Rico. During the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, the project reemerged solely instrumental, with intricate soundscapes and aggressive guitars. The band’s debut "Agape" is a multi-layered album that patiently builds in pressure and impact while heading squarely toward monolithic detonation. With “Egress”, the second studio album, THE COLOR OF CYAN, once again blurs the boundaries of their post, metal, and Neo-classical labels by exploring introspective emotions through delicate layering.

"Egress embodies the pursuit of happiness no matter the obstacles in life."

“Egress” was produced by Eduardo Cintron. Recorded at: Padrino (San Juan, PR), DF (Chicago, IL) and Electrical Audio (Chicago, IL). Mixed at Electrical Audio by Greg Norman, who worked with bands like Godspeed You Black Emperor and Russian Circles. Mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound. Artwork by Yasin Violet. Photos by Herminio Rodriguez. Special mention for the string quartet, which appeared in many MONO albums.

“Egress” tracklist:

1. Sunwounds

2. When Autumn

3. Water Drawings

4. The Crossing

5. To Another Road

6. Far Below The Waves

7. Egress


Eduardo Cintron - Guitars

Henry Cole - Drums

Jorge Santana - Bass

Rene Torres - Violin

Susan Voelz - Violin

Jennifer Dunne - Violin

Andra Kulans - Viola

Alison Chesley - Cello




bottom of page