top of page

London’s Metallers HILLTOPS ARE FOR DREAMERS Share New Single & Video “The Firmament” Off Upcoming EP “The Tragedy of Being Human”!

British metal band HILLTOPS ARE FOR DREAMERS has released the new single “The Firmament”, taken from the EP “The Tragedy of Being Human”, set to be released on February 16th via Hilltops Recordings. The EP will be available as a limited vinyl style card wallet CD with a real painting artwork by Maria Kalantzi.

Watch the video of “The Firmament” here:

HAFD’s mastermind, Vasilis Papageorgakopoulos, has stated about the new track:

It’s the beginning of life but in a bitter way, where ‘one breath’s enough to liberate the pain’. The place that we live in is just a passage, and our existence is short like the sound of a whistle. We are here to decompress, evolve or fail. Sarcastically, the chorus says ‘that even if I fail, I will ask for more.’ A human drama kind of thing. The title is taken from the biblical cosmology, where ‘the firmament’ is the vast solid dome created by God during Genesis. It divides the sea into upper and lower portions so that the dry land could appear. The song is mid-tempo with some Katatonia and doom vibes, also influenced by a great new Finnish band, The Abbey.

Pre-order “The Tragedy of Being Human” on Bandcamp:

Stream/download “The Firmament” on

The new EP “The Tragedy of Being Human” describes the human journey from creation to eternity. It emphasises a dark side where humans live a life of confusion and distress to end in a chaotic endless white for a greater, unknown purpose. It’s a three-single release and accompanied by three videos, completed by the respective EP. The front cover is a real painting by Maria Kalantzi and played a key role for the concept of the EP. While it seems to represent an upper and a lower world that are pivotal to our ‘balanced’ existence in the form of an ‘hourglass’ shape, the lyricist attempts to interpret it into the wandering of life. A melancholic sound, yet dynamic, with prominent clean vocals and expressive screams.

With “The Firmament”, the 3-songs tracklist of “The Tragedy of Being Human” is now complete and you can read it below:

1. The Firmament

2. Hyacinth

3. Timeless Time


Vasilis Papageorgakopoulos - Guitars, Keys, Programming

Fernando Guerrero - Drums

Sam Sanassee - Vocals

George Kostaras - Bass



bottom of page