top of page

SIDEWINDER Urges To Carry On Against The Odds With The New Single“Walk Of Ishi”

New Zealand Southern Rockers SIDEWINDER are glad to share a new single taken from Vines, the new album to be released in early 2022. The song is called “Walk Of Ishi” and it is a must for those loving the vibes of Alice In Chains, Audioslave, Stone Temple Pilots, Kings X, Clutch and Kyuss. Watch the video on the band's YouTube channel:

Walk Of Ishi” is essentially a brooding, melancholy, and angry rock ballad. The band took inspiration from the historical figure of Ishi - a Native American man who was the last surviving member of his tribe after it was subjected to genocide. Ishi spent many years wandering alone as he dealt with his grief. The song is not so much about his life though as much as it is about the internal thoughts of a broken man determined to carry on against the odds – something the band hopes everyone can relate to on some level and take strength from.

SIDEWINDER formed in Wellington late in 2020 as a combination of experienced musicians. Their sound, described as ‘bluesy desert / southern rock with a grungy aftertaste’, has attracted a great deal of fan interest in a short time.

Sirens, the bands first single was duly released April 2021 and was enthusiastically picked up by local rock radio stations, overseas bloggers and podcasters. A second single Mississippi Fire was released in June 2021 along with an accompanying lyric video which has been viewed over 85.000 times. More singles are recorded and will be released in the coming months.

The band currently has a number of shows booked over the rest of 2021 in various parts of New Zealand. Another even more extensive tour is currently being booked to promote the full album Vines.

"Walk Of Ishi" has been engineered, recorded, and mixed by James Goldsmith at Surgery Studios, Wellington NZ. Mastering by Mike Gibson at Munki Studios. Artwork by Onyx Art and Design.

"Walk Of Ishi"is available on:


Jason Curtis – Vocals

Ben Sargent – Guitar

Tom Rousell – Guitar

Sean Fitzpatrick – 12 string Bass

Corey Mudge – Drums


The Metallist PR – your Metal & Rock PR Agency:



bottom of page