top of page

Florida’s Heavy Metal Band OUT OF DARKNESS (founded by former ICED EARTH drummer, Brent E. Smedley) Unleashes the Video of “Terraform”!

Heavy Metal outfit OUT OF DARKNESS has released the new single “Terraform” together with an official video. The song, taken from the upcoming self-titled album out on February 23rd, is an absolute banger for those who love bands like Iced Earth, Nevermore, and Symphony X!

Watch the video of “Terraform” here:

Pre-order the album “Out of Darkness” on the band’s website:

"Terraform" shows not only the great songwriting skills of the Florida-based quartet, but also how heavy metal can be powerful and fresh nowadays. Supported by a riff full of groove and an alternative flavour, the song finds its climax in the chorus dominated by Eric Barrios, whose voice expertly mixes the power of Tim "Ripper" Owens and the expressiveness of the late Warrel Dane.

The band has also revealed the definitive tracklist of the album. You can read it below: 

1. Cosmic Conclusion


3. Terraform

4. Out of Darkness

5. Prelude to Eternity

6. Entity

7. Open Wound

8. Soul Dreams

9. Breathing Fire

10. Via Dolorosa

11. In A Dream

The upcoming album “Out of Darkness” demonstrates the evolution of the band, showcasing a wide variety of styles and dynamics within the metal realm. The lyrical content can at times be personal and dark, though the overall message of the band is intended to be positive and uplifting. The intended audience would range from lovers of classic American Progressive / Power Metal to fans of modern Metal. The band has put their influences and growth thoroughly on display in their second release.

OUT OF DARKNESS was formed in 2020 by Brent E. Smedley (former Iced Earth drummer and percussionist) and Eric Barrios, vocals and guitar. They released the debut EP "Seize the Day" that same year to much critical acclaim and began to grow their following. Playing live shows first in their home state of Florida, then followed up by doing 3 tours up the East Coast as far as New Jersey and even reaching as far West as Las Vegas. The song "Think Again" reached #23 on The Billboard Rock Indicator chart, #8 on the Foundations Rock Chart Top 10 Greatest Gainers and received substantial airplay on many FM radio stations throughout the United States. The band received over 100,000 views for the "I Surrender" video and has over 16,000 followers on Facebook. This Epic Metal masterpiece seeks to redefine their sound and broaden the spectrum of True Heavy Metal. This album features powerfully crafted songs with crushing riffs, catchy vocal melodies, thought provoking lyrics, and powerful rhythms that take the listener on an audio journey through dynamic and colorful musical soundscapes. It is Out of Darkness' intention to become a legendary Metal band like no other.

“Out of Darkness” was produced by Stan Martell and Bill Staley. Mixed and mastered by Stan Martell at Martell AVP. Artwork and band photos by Bill Staley. Band logo by David Parrish.


Brent Smedley - Drums

Eric Barrios - Vocals, Guitar

Bill Staley - Guitar

Dan Callahan - Bass



bottom of page