top of page

CHIMPGRINDER Announces the ''Remasters'' Anthology; Single ''Arrow Ritual'' and Pre-Order Available

The US stoner rock / doom quartet CHIMPGRINDER is glad to announce the deal with Electric Talon Records for the release of a three album anthology called “Remasters”, available as CD, cassette, streaming, and digital download formats on April 22.

The origins of the band evolved from the necessity of cheap band rental space. Having cycled through a few roommates, and tired of sharing rooms with flaky emo and deathcore bands, our landlord suggested a cheaper discounted space in the decommissioned animal wing of the human centrifuge building in the bowels of the Johnsville Naval Air Development Center. Walking down the dark hallways to the practice space, large metal ring tie downs are spaced intermittently along the floor leading to the tiny 11x11 concrete room with no air conditioning or heat. A large incinerator and animal cages were the band’s only neighbors.

CHIMPGRINDER came to life when Aaron Gerwer officially joined on vocals. Thematic and lyrical inspiration evolved from a first person point of view of Oliver, providing a perspective that is a useful allegory to the real pain, struggle, and experiences of everyday life. As the band developed their unique style, each album became a journey and story. “Volume 666” hints at the storytelling potential, but the second album “Oliver” expanded the storytelling and musical darkness. “Simian Space King” brings the riffs and rocks harder, but provides a melancholy ending to the trilogy. All albums were DIY self recorded in the animal wing using a spiderweb of cables, microphones, and archaic and unorthodox recording techniques. “Volume 666” was originally Released January 2012, “Oliver” followed in August 2012, then “Simian Space King” in May 2014.

Electric Talon Records is proud to announce that for the first time, all three records are being released in one cohesive package. David Downham from the Gradwell House carefully breathed a fresh life into these recordings with a full remix and remaster of the three album anthology. This release will be the definitive Chimpgrinder package, and it will be a must for fans of Eyehategod, Down, Black Sabbath, and Sleep.

Stream “Arrow Ritual” single -



  1. Obliteration and Bliss

  2. Paid

  3. The Blonde Lab Assistant

  4. Oxygen Thins Out

  5. She Had Visions

  6. An Ill Advised Harem Experiment


  1. Warm Beer, Cold Ape (Intro)

  2. Turning From the Sun

  3. Meetin’ My Baby

  4. Just an Animal After All

  5. My Crime

  6. Sacred Ape


  1. The Arrow Ritual

  2. High Ground and Looking Down

  3. Waylaid Way Out

  4. Simian Space King

  5. Stomach of God

  6. Infinity Creep


Aaron Gerwer - Vocals

Steve Mensick - Guitars

Chris Scott - Bass

Chris Turek - Drums




bottom of page