top of page

Post-Rock/Ambient Act THE COLOR OF CYAN Announces “Egress” Album Details; Listen to the Title-Track!

The Chicago-based post-rock/ambient band THE COLOR OF CYAN comes back with a new release, following the great success of the debut album “Agape” in 2021. The new album is called “Egress” and it will be released on September 1st, 2023. You can already pre-order the album in digital version on Bandcamp, while the details about the vinyl release will be announced a few weeks before the release date.

Listen to the track “Egress” and pre-order the album:

The song is also available on the main digital platforms

THE COLOR OF CYAN's second studio album, “Egress”, is about time, time for knowledge, for love, for pain and for the constant learning that makes us who we are. The story of two people dancing over tides, gliding together, until one starts to slowly disappear, but even in tears, enjoying the time left makes them stronger. Bittersweet minutes of sound fill the void, scanning our surroundings. Closing circles, at ease, with a smile. After all, time is the constant pursuit of happiness.

"Similarly to our first album, we wrote and structured the music as the arc of a film, with incidents, conflicts, climax and resolution. Our music arrangements are purposely in constant motion, guided by emotions, impossible to replicate perfectly, like waves in the sea. Nothing is ever the same as before."

THE COLOR OF CYAN creates emotive instrumental music, seamlessly merging cinematic post-rock, moving orchestral arrangements, ambient, and post-metal. The original iteration of the band was formed in 2000 in San Juan, Puerto Rico. During the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, the project reemerged solely instrumental, with intricate soundscapes and aggressive guitars. The band’s debut "Agape" is a multi-layered album that patiently builds in pressure and impact while heading squarely toward monolithic detonation. With “Egress”, the second studio album, THE COLOR OF CYAN, once again blurs the boundaries of their post, metal, and Neo-classical labels by exploring introspective emotions through delicate layering.

"Egress embodies the pursuit of happiness, no matter the obstacles in life."

“Egress” was produced by Eduardo Cintron. Recorded at: Padrino (San Juan, PR), DF (Chicago, IL) and Electrical Audio (Chicago, IL). Mixed by Greg Norman at Electrical Audio. Mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound. Artwork by Yasin Violet. Photos by Herminio Rodriguez.

“Egress” tracklist:

1. Sunwounds

2. When Autumn

3. Water Drawings

4. The Crossing

5. To Another Road

6. Far Below The Waves

7. Egress


Eduardo Cintron - Guitars

Henry Cole - Drums

Jorge Santana - Bass

Rene Torres - Violin

Susan Voelz - Violin

Jennifer Dunne - Violin

Andra Kulans - Viola

Alison Chesley - Cello




bottom of page